Virtual Reality…But it’s real!

Featured Photo: Sunset over Chaska…Farewell!

From Elder Ellis (email dated 7/11/2016):

Hello everyone, it’s been another week. This past week has just flown by. It’s so crazy! I mean it was the Fourth of July, then suddenly it was Sunday again. So it’s been fast.

Today is the transfer calls. We got the email. Here’s the scoop! I have been called to be a zone leader in the Oakdale zone. I’ll be in Hudson. So that’s exciting. I’m so sad though, I love this area! It’s going to be a different experience. Ah I’m so scared! Zone leading, it’s not too bad right? We shall see. But challenge accepted!

So aside from transfers, this week has been pretty great! Last Monday we partied it up in St. Paul with three other zones of missionaries. I got to see Elder Lao again! It was good to see him again. He’s doing well. We bbqed and played tons of sports. We left St. Paul and then watched fireworks with the Waconia Elders in Waconia. It was a great way to spend the Fourth of July! So much fun!

Elder Bezzant and I went on exchanges for Tuesday and Wednesday this week too. I was in Waconia. There’s not too much to do in Waconia. So we found things to do and had some fun! It’s good to be with someone from your hometown. Haha. We basically talked about a bunch of people from high school. It was awesome!

FMSCWithStaff_800x600
At Feed My Starving Children

We haven’t been able to meet with Pamela this past week. She’s been busy, we’ve been busy, but she is doing well. She randomly called us one day and said that she has a crock pot for us! We said okay and so we are going to get a crockpot from her on Tuesday! She’s prepped and ready to go to the temple and everything. Ah it’s so wonderful to see her progress! 🙂

We also visited with M___ this past week. We pretty much resolved her concerns… Well WE didn’t, the member we brought, brother Hienonen, resolved her concerns. It was a pretty boss lesson. She’s just doing pretty good. Her kids came to church yesterday.

Speaking of yesterday, we had 11 investigators come to church yesterday!!! M___’s four kids came to church and then Matt Kerr brought seven other people to church as well! Matt Kerr is a boss! He gave his homecoming talk and invited a ton of his friends. It was so cool! Matt then told us that he is going to try to set up lessons with them for us. He’s so cool! I hope I can be as cool of a return missionary as him when I get home. (Down to eight months, not that anyone is counting…mom and dad.) 😉

Well, in accordance to the subject of this email, I’ve been in virtual reality. It was awesome! Christy’s friend Adam was over this past weekend and he has this awesome virtual reality thingy. We got to play this game on it where you deflect the beats of a song that you can choose. It was AWESOME! So boss. So epic.

That’s about it for the week. I’m so going to miss this area. All the work that will be going down and all the people I’ve met. It’s so saddening that I’m leaving. I know the lord needs me in Hudson though. It’s going to be a new experience. Ah…Here we go!

OnTheChaskaFridge_600x800
Farewell, Chaska! I’ll miss you all!

Thank you for all the love and support you’ve had for me this past week. Love you guys! Hope you guys have a great week!

Love,

Elder Ellis

Published by

Michael Andrew Ellis

Proud father of Elder Bryce Ellis, who is serving a two-year mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Minnesota Minneapolis Mission.

Leave a Reply

