Hallelujah for Spring!

Featured Photo: Elder Ellis reading the BOM in a gazebo!

From Elder Ellis:

Hello everyone! It’s Monday again! This week just flew by! Holy cow, I can’t believe it’s already Monday. Well, I’ve had a great week so far! So I’ll start telling you about it right now! Let’s get started!

BeautifulDay1_800x600
Beautiful Day!

So, one of the greatest things happened this week. Our investigator, J___, is date set for March 19th. She was going through some things and can’t make the date now, but she was super willing to change the date and try again! We taught her on Tuesday and had a wonderful lesson about tithing and fast offerings. We thought she wasn’t going to like this commandment very much, because money is tight, but she was ready and willing to follow. We’ve reset her date for April 2nd. It’s General Conference weekend, but we got permission to hold a baptism that morning! So things just need to be planned and set! We are super excited! I haven’t seen her from the beginning, but I know that she has changed a lot since the missionaries started teaching her. It’s wonderful!

ElderEllisSelfie1_600x800
Eden Prairie selfie!

Other cool miracles, on Saturday, it hit 70 degrees! I’m stunned. Is this even Minnesota? It was beautiful and gorgeous outside! We planned to contact around lake Minnetonka, which is north of us a little. Oh, it was planned perfectly! Sometime things don’t go as planned though. Instead of that, we got to spend our afternoon in the Eden Prairie mall. Our car, Glenda, has been slowly dying. The battery is dead. We literally have to jump start our car every time we start it. Our car is only living because of a battery pack we carry in our trunk. So we took it to Sears auto in Eden prairie and got a new battery, which took longer than we thought. But it gave us some contacting opportunities! No one really listened, but we took an opportunity when we saw it!

Last night, we also had the opportunity to go to the Lamb of God performance. It’s a choir and orchestral performance of the last week of Christ’s life. It was a powerful experience. Music just touches the soul in many ways that words can’t. It was amazing! And yes, Dad, it was classical music I enjoyed. Doesn’t happen often. Rarely ever at that, but this is different. Much different.

GoingToSeeLambOfGod_600x800
Going to see Lamb of God!

So, here’s another miracle from this past week: I sang in church. What? Yeah, I did. Elder Morgan is a great singer, and somehow, he was able to convince me to sing a musical number with him. We sang “We’ll Bring the World His Truth.” Even worse, I had a solo. What? Crazy, the mission makes you do crazy things. Well, I believe that in that moment, God granted me the ability to actually sing. Or the spirit carried my voice and somehow made it sound good when it reached the ears of the hearers. It turned out pretty good. Definitely a different experience. Haha.

Last thing to talk about for this week. Yesterday, the church released a new video to celebrate Easter and the resurrection of Christ. It is a great video that can be found here. I encourage you to watch this video and share it with a friend who doesn’t know about Christ, or even a friend who does know about Christ. Share it with everyone! You can use the hashtag #hallelujah to promote it on social media as well!

I hope you all have a wonderful week! This week also marks one year since I’ve left home. It’s crazy how fast time flies by. I just think it’s such a great experience and I’m so grateful for the opportunities I’ve had here. I’m grateful for the friends I’ve made, people I’ve met, and friends I’ve helped. I’m excited to spend another year making more friends and helping more people! So here’s to another great year!! Love you all!

Love,

Elder Ellis

Published by

Michael Andrew Ellis

Proud father of Elder Bryce Ellis, who is serving a two-year mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Minnesota Minneapolis Mission.

Leave a Reply

