Clean Apartment Still

Spiritual Diamonds, Conference Christmas, and Traditions!

Featured Photo: “Cleanliness is Next to Godliness!”

From Elder Ellis:

Hello everyone! It’s Monday again? Can you believe it, because I can’t. This week. Holy cow. This week was SO AMAZING!!! I can’t wait to tell you all about it!

First things first. There was a talk this last weekend from General Conference that really touched my heart. It was Elder Holland’s talk about Mothers. I want to take a brief moment before we get started to thank my Mom, and other mom-like figures in my life. I am so grateful to have such a wonderful mother in my life. Elder Holland’s talk reminded me that a mother’s love for her children is the most Christ-like love, next to the infinite love of Christ. I’m grateful for such a wonderful mother, who loves me for who I am and helps me become stronger. I’m grateful for other mother-like figures in my life including my aunts, my grandmothers, and my sister. President Nelson also highlighted on how covenant-keeping women impact the Church a lot. I’m so grateful for all these wonderful women in my life. Especially my mom! Thank you so much, and I love you more than you can even think, because you love me more than I can ever comprehend. Love you!

Well let’s get started!!

Bag Ready for Conference
All packed for Conference! Yum yum!

Biggest highlight. Conference weekend. All the talks were so good! I can’t believe how great it was. I remember finishing each session wanting more. I just wanted more spiritual food! I’ve never felt that way before for any conference. (Yes it’s true. I played my DS during some conferences in the past….) To a missionary, conference is like Christmas! And to hear the wonderful testimonies of the 3 new apostles was amazing. There was several clear messages I heard while listening to General Conference: SIMPLIFY and TESTIFY. As I went through my notes this morning, I noticed I wrote down the same scripture twice. It was Alma 37:6:

By small and simple things are great things brought to past.

I just have to take things step by step!

So many other messages where found in the wonderful talks. So many “spiritual diamonds,” as I like to call them. I heard once that if you write down what the speakers are saying, you’re writing a history book. But if you write down what you feel, you’re writing a journal that will save your life someday. I have so many favorite talks that I can’t even name them all. I loved Sister Marriott’s talk. I loved Elder Bednar’s talk. I loved Elder Holland’s talk. I loved President Eyring’s talk (from the Priesthood session). I loved Elder Oaks’s talk. I loved Elder Martino’s talk. (The whole time I was thinking, “That man was in my apartment! He shook my hand! He hugged me! He said I had a clean apartment!” :D) I loved all three of the new Apostle’s testimonies (Elder Rasband, Elder Stevenson, and Elder Renlund). I loved Elder Christoffereson’s talk. I loved Sister Stephen’s talk. I just loved it all!!!!!!!!!

Beautiful Conference Weekend
Beautiful day for Conference!

The other clear message I heard was that God has called me, you, and virtually everyone else to the work. I have been called to serve in the Minnesota Minneapolis Mission, specifically to work with Cambodian people. I have been called of God. All three of the new apostles told us that they felt inadequate when they received their call to the Quorum of the Twelve. I have felt inadequate to be here learning the language I am learning. This past weekend taught me many things, one of them being this: God qualifies those he calls. God has called me and will not forsake me. He will help me learn the language of Khmer and help me to further the work here in Minnesota. God has called each of you also. He will help you with ANYTHING you struggle with. Never feel inadequate. You aren’t. God will help you. Do all you can, and God will take the rest. It’s the truth.

If I could talk about conference all day, I’d have a 12-page email, or more. So for now, I’ll move on. Conference traditions happened, but not the way you’d think. Elder Rudd, Elder Foggin, Elder Boekweg, Elder Nang, and I went to Culver’s before the Priesthood session, because it ended at 9pm here. Then after every session, we had lunch/dinner at either our apartment or their apartment. Last night I made a Meatball marinara pie. It’s better than it sounds. I wanted to make a chicken pot pie, but I had no time. So I made meatball marinara on the stove, got out my two pie crusts, and layered the top and bottom with provolone cheese. It turned out so much better than I thought! It was also sooooooooooooooo delicious!

Conference was such a highlight I’m starting to forget what else happened this week. We had a great lesson with Ca___. She was the woman Elder Mitchell, Elder Liaga, and I contacted a few weeks ago. We got a media referral for a guy in Eden Prairie and we’ve started teaching him! It’s been a great week!

Autumn Days Arrived
Autumn has arrived!

Today for P-day we are doing a BBQ and movie up in Minneapolis. We are either watching Big Hero 6, Remember the Titans, or Inside Out. I’m voting for Inside Out (so is most of the zone). But we’ll see what happens :).

Sorry this email was basically a conference highlight (or a conference preview for those in other parts of the world ;^), but I loved conference THAT much! I can’t wait to see what the Lord has in store for me this week! I’m grateful for all that you do to support me and love me! Have a great week!

Love,

Elder Ellis

Published by

Michael Andrew Ellis

Proud father of Elder Bryce Ellis, who is serving a two-year mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Minnesota Minneapolis Mission.

Leave a Reply

