Olaf The Spirit Guide

The Lord Always Provides a Way!

Featured Photo: Olaf, the car mascot, but a little lower than the Spirit Guide!

From Elder Ellis:

Hello again! I hope everyone’s week was amazing! This week has been a crazy week and such a wonderful experience! So many little miracles in this week I just can’t believe all the great things that happened! So let’s get into it and start!

Best thing that happened this past week. On Saturday, we were weekly planning. It’s the time we set apart each week to plan for the upcoming week. Set goals, make plans. etc. Well, we were looking back on our week and we hadn’t had ANY member-present lessons. At all. We were a little discouraged, but then we got a call. Brother Dunkley called! He got called as the new Ward Mission Leader yesterday. Well, he called us and said, “Hey what are you guys doing today? I’m bored, and my wife and kids are out and about.” So we invited him to come teaching with us! We were able to go visit a few investigators of ours. That was a miracle!

The Coolest Elders
The Coolest Elders chllin’ on P-day!

More miracles came out of this. We were planning on visiting Ph___ O___ with Brother Dunkley. We got to her house and she was “busy.” (piak doh saa = excuses) Well, we decided to teach while finding, and there was a guy there. His name is K___. He is friends with someone who lives there and, well, long story short, he was there and we decided to teach him. We talked to him and found out that he does the landscaping for our churches and temples! So he knew who we were. He then looked at us and said, “I’m a Lutheran, so tell me why your church is different from ours. I want to know more.”

We talked and talked and talked some more. He was super interested. We taught him about Joseph Smith, temples, the plan of salvation, commandments, and virtually everything we have to offer. He asked questions that pertained to these, so we weren’t dumping the information on him. Haha. Well, at the end we left him with a card and a prayer. Hopefully, he will pray. It was a cool miracle that happened to us. Which brings me to the point of what my email title is. The Lord always provides a way for us to accomplish the things we had planned. We were planning on some members to come teaching with us, and the Lord provided a way for that to happen. It’s cool how the Lord keeps his promises, isn’t it?

Well, other than that, this week we were able to meet with a part-member family in Shakopee. This family is a Cambodian family. The children were baptized and the mom wasn’t. Primarily because she doesn’t understand English very well. The children aren’t children by the way. They are adults, but they just still live with the mom. Anyway, we taught them this past week and she wants to learn more! What a miracle!

So on Thursday, President Forbes thought it would be a good idea for our district to assemble the bikes for the new missionaries coming into the mission. (Questionable idea). Elder Boekweg, Sister Coleman, and I tackled this sister’s bike, Sister Warmbier who is a Spanish Sister coming this week. It took us soooooooooo long to put it together. We got a time lapse video of it. (See below.) But It was so funny with us trying to put it together! Elder Boekweg was trying to unscrew something and President comes over and says, “Oh, you don’t need to unscrew that, especially if you are going to do it with a pipe wrench!” Lo and behold, 25+ minutes later, we finished finally. (I hope that Sister Warmbier is safe on that bike. Elder Boekweg kept saying, “Oh yeah, we’ll tighten that later!”) It was a great experience.

Speaking of Elder Boekweg, we went on exchanges last Thursday. I just love that Elder! He’s from Orem and he is just the coolest Elder ever! He and I had some good talks and taught some good lessons together. He just got called as the new Assistant today! I’m excited for him!

So this week has been quite the experience! There is a lot more that happened, but I don’t remember all the things, which means that I guess they aren’t relevant to you today! Also I’m in a library in Bloomington with a million crying kids, so forgive me if my memory is not as good as it usually is. Anyway, the big thing I learned this week is that as we keep the commandments of the Lord, he will provide a way for us to accomplish what he needs done. The scripture that comes to mind is 1 Nephi 3:7. “I will go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded, for I know that the Lord giveth no commandments unto the children of men, save he shall prepare a way for them that they may accomplish the thing which he commandeth them.” It’s true, the Lord doesn’t give us commandments we can’t follow.

Well, this transfer marks six months. I’ve been a missionary for SIX months. That means I have a “Sister Mission” left. I have 18 months left. I can’t believe that those six months just flew by. It’s been too fast. I still have so much to do, and not enough time. It’s going to be an adventure!

I know this gospel is true and I love sharing that knowledge to all that I meet! I hope you all have a great week! Thank you for all your support and love! I love you all!

Love,

Elder Ellis

Published by

Michael Andrew Ellis

Proud father of Elder Bryce Ellis, who is serving a two-year mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Minnesota Minneapolis Mission.

Leave a Reply

