I'm Loving It

I’m Lovin’ It!

Featured Photo: The Contagious Enthusiasm of Elder Ellis

From Elder Ellis:

Yeah, if you can’t tell by the title of this email, I’m loving my mission!! And I also went to McDonald’s. For the first time on my mission, I went to McDonald’s. After two and a half months, I caved in and went. I was doing so well. But it was so good! McDonald’s just reminds me of spending time with friends there. Haha. Good times, good times.

Bourbon Bacon Burger
How can something be so good and not so good at the same time?

Well, other than that, this week was great! So much happened I don’t know where to start! Every night this week we’ve visited a recent convert of ours. His name is C___. He has three kids, S___ H___, S___ H___, and C___. They love it when we come over. We play soccer with them and share scriptures. C___ is eight and preparing to be baptized on June 27th. That’s exciting!! They are so much fun to be around and they just love reading the scriptures with us. They want to learn English so we read it to them in English. It’s great!

C And Us
Elder Nang, C___, and I
Playing Soccer
Playing Soccer with the Kids

We also visited another recent convert whose name is B___. He’s an older gentleman. He’s great! He struggles with coming to church because of his new job he got. So we’ve been teaching him about how God will provide a way for him to fulfill his commandments, but he needs to do his part first. It’s fun to teach him because he understands English here and there, so I actually get to teach.

C From La Crosse
He wanted to wear my rain jacket! Why not?

On Thursday a Khmer (that means Cambodian) family that lives in La Crosse came to Bloomington. Back story time: This family lives in La Crosse, Wisconsin, and they are a part-member family. The mother is the member and the father is the non-member. He is getting baptized in La Crosse this month! Yay! They have two children, six and seven years old. They want to move to Bloomington to be in the Bloomington ward and to find work in the area. They are such a cool family. I mainly talk with the kids and play soccer with them because they speak English. I love them! They are the cutest little Asian kids ever! We helped them with some of the paperwork for getting an apartment. They hopefully will move in by August! I can’t wait!

A From La Crosse
Twelfie!

We also met with a potential on Saturday. Her name is T___. She is so golden. We taught her about Christ and His atonement and she was so touched by it. I could feel it. She wanted to come to church so badly. Unfortunately, she didn’t make it yesterday. She lives down in Savage, which is farther south of us, and so we have to make time to see her this week.

After we had the lesson, she asked us if we wanted some food. Her mom had been making food the whole time! Her dad invited us to come eat too. Elder Nang told me to eat some and he called it Bung Cha (don’t quote me on the spelling). He did not know how to explain it in English, so I just ate it. IT WAS SO AMAZING! It was like a Cambodian Crepe. Or burrito. It was amazing! You know I liked it a lot because there were bean sprouts in there. I hate bean sprouts. But I ate it all! It was like this spring-roll-like wrapping and on the inside was pork, shrimp, and bean sprouts. Then you put this sweet and spicy sauce on it. IT was SO GOOD! I’m drooling just thinking about it again. Hopefully we can get T___ to come to church soon. She and her Dad really seem interested.

The other big news for this week is, as President F. described it, “The 800-pound elephant in the corner of the room.” Ipads! We got iPads! It’s weird to have one. I feel no different than before. The only thing that I enjoy about it is having the ability to show a video that I just downloaded. Instead of telling my investigators to go watch this video, I just whip out my iPad and I’m like, “Here watch this and feel the spirit and be baptized!” It’s great.

iPads Yeah
The iPad and Reflections Thereon

All the trainings for iPads had one common message. We must continue to be disciples of Christ. Even now as we have this new tool. It’s not about just now, it’s all about eternity. One of the greatest messages we learned was about how we bear the name of Christ. We Elders hold the same title as the Apostles of the Church. We Elders have the same title as those in the First Presidency. The Sisters have the same title as those Sisters in the Relief Society and Primary Presidencies. It made me think about how great the title Elder (or Sister) really is. I have this opportunity to be called Elder for two years. For two years I have the same title as an Apostle. I love that.

Rainbows After Storm
The Rainbow After a Storm

Well, all is well in the Midwest here. It’s hot and humid and I hate that part. Just kidding! It’s nice. Minnesota does this thing were it’s really hot for a day and then it’s pouring rain the next. One day it hit 105 degrees. It was crazy! Then later that day it rained. Minnesota is almost more bipolar than Utah. I think it is! I love you all and I can’t wait to see you all. Two years is a long time, but it’s not enough time for me to complete my work out here! I’ve got so much to do! Love you all! God be with you till we meet again!

Love,

Elder Ellis

Published by

Michael Andrew Ellis

Proud father of Elder Bryce Ellis, who is serving a two-year mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Minnesota Minneapolis Mission.

Leave a Reply

