Elder Ellis Tracting in Rain

Many Mighty Miracles!

Featured Photo: Elder Ellis tracting in the Rain! Experiencing joy!

From Elder Ellis:

I’ve been called to serve in the Minneapolis Minnesota Mission, most commonly referred to as the MMM mission. Our mission scripture is Alma 26:12:

Yea, I know that I am nothing; as to my strength I am weak; therefore I will not boast of myself, but I will boast of my God, for in his strength I can do all things; yea, behold, many mighty miracles we have wrought in this land, for which we will praise his name forever. (emphasis added)

Many Mighty Miracles. I’m in the Many Mighty Miracles Mission. I truly have seen that in just the one month I’ve been out.

First off. Huge shout out to my cousin, Tristan. He got his mission call to Fukuoka Japan. That southernmost part of Japan. SO that’s so exciting! Give him lots of love from me! Japanese is easy. It’s easier than Hmong. Kuv tsis paub lus Hmoob. (I don’t know Hmong.) In my opinion, I think it’s easier than Hmong.

This week was crazy. First off Wisconsin decided that it’s as bipolar as Utah. It was about 77 degrees this week. And then today it’s 39 degrees with a wind chill that makes it feel like it’s two degrees outside. So. Bipolar. I was wearing a short sleeve shirt one day and now I’m bundled up in my waterproof winter jacket. I’m loving it!

As for other things that have happened this week. I’ve seen quite a few “Mighty Miracles” this week. We had five investigators come to church yesterday! It was such a great experience. We found J___, our golden investigator of the week before last, and he was able to make it to church this week. The Micronesian family we’ve been working with showed up, and this other random guy that we didn’t really teach showed up a second time! (I will explain about all of them momentarily). It was such a great experience, because back home in Utah: 1) I never really see the missionaries in my stake, and 2) I’ve never been to church with an investigator. Seeing how even just sacrament meeting helped them made me feel the spirit so strongly.

About the Micronesian family that we are teaching: M___ and E___ have three kids. The second child, A___, is actually a member. We’ve been trying to get M___, the father, to come to church for such a long time. He made it to church on Sunday and it was good. They are so close to a baptism date and we are super excited for them.

The random guy who showed up to church one week: Two weeks ago we were at church and some guy was introduced to us and wanted to know more about the Church. His name is N___. He is a college student who is looking for something more. GOLDEN. Except one thing. He said he was led to our church by some other missionaries. After church, we talked with the sisters about him. They have never met him. So…who led him there? We had never seen him before. The sisters haven’t seen him before. There is only 1 of 2 options: 1) Angels brought him to us. 2) Other missionaries from a different church accidentally sent him to our church instead of theirs. I think I’ll stick with option 1. Haha. Miracles!

Last miracle I’ve seen this week. We called it an 8:58 miracle. We were trying to meet with everyone on Tuesday night. EVERYTHING FELL THROUGH. But that’s a typical mission life anyway. We were about three minutes away from home and it was 8:58 pm. We missionaries are supposed to return home at 9:00 pm, unless we are meeting with people then we are allowed to return home no later than 9:30 pm. Basic mission rules. We were tired and thought about turning in, because it would take us time to get home and we’d be home at 9 pm anyway. Just before we headed off towards home, Elder Gardiner said, “Hold on, there is a less active or potential Investigator on this street. Let’s go see if they’re home.” We got out of the car and knocked on the door. The windows were open and we could hear a little girl saying, “MOM! There’s two guys at the door with white shirts and ties on!” The mom opens the door and realizes we are the missionaries. Turns out she’s a less active member who hasn’t been able to make it to church because of transportation reasons. She was beginning to think the church had forgotten her. We talked with her for a little bit and invited her to come to our scripture study night at the church. We found her a ride and got her to the scripture study night and we are beginning to re-activate her. That was definitely a miracle, because we were so sure that we should just go home, but we found a lost sheep!

Selfie with Ebenezar
Selfie with Ebenezar!
Our MTC District mascot!
Please excuse the bright light.
(We’re just super holy ;^)

Anyway, long email again. I have a lot to say and not a lot of time! I love you all and can’t wait to see you again! God be with you till we meet again!

Love,

Elder Ellis

Published by

Michael Andrew Ellis

Proud father of Elder Bryce Ellis, who is serving a two-year mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Minnesota Minneapolis Mission.

Leave a Reply

